Oklahoma had two special honors on the media’s Big 12 preseason football team announced Tuesday.

Linebacker Kenneth Murray was a selection as Defensive Player of the Year and Alabama transfer Jalen Hurts is the Newcomer of the Year as he succeeds Kyler Murray behind center for the Sooners. 

Texas quarterback Sam Ehlinger, coming off a Sugar Bowl win against Georgia, got the nod as Offensive Player of the Year.

Other Sooners making the team were running back Kennedy Brooks, wide receiver CeeDee Lamb, tight end Grant Calcaterra, offensive lineman Creed Humphrey and Murray on the defensive unit. Lamb was also given the nod as the return specialist.

Running back Chuba Hubbard, wide receiver Tylan Wallace and defensive back A.J. Green represent Oklahoma State among the selections.

The Big 12 media preseason poll will be out today. Big 12 Media Days is in Arlington on Monday and Tuesday. Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Kansas, TCU and Texas Tech will appear Monday and Texas, Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas State and West Virginia will show on Tuesday.



Offensive Player of the Year: Sam Ehlinger, Texas, QB, 6-3, 230, Jr., Austin, Texas 

Defensive Player of the Year: Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma, LB, 6-2, 243, Jr., Missouri City, Texas 

Newcomer of the Year: Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma, QB, 6-2, 219, Sr., Houston, Texas 




Sam Ehlinger (3), Texas, 6-3, 230, Jr., Austin, Texas


Pooka Williams Jr. (1), Kansas, 5-10, 170, So., New Orleans, La. 

Kennedy Brooks (3), Oklahoma, 5-11, 209, So., Mansfield, Texas

Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 207, So.,Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada 


CeeDee Lamb (3), Oklahoma, 6-2, 191, Jr., Richmond, Texas 

Tylan Wallace (1), Oklahoma State, 6-0, 185, Jr., Fort Worth, Texas

Jalen Reagor (2), TCU, 5-11, 195, Jr., Waxahachie, Texas 


Grant Calcaterra (1), Oklahoma, 6-4, 233, Jr., Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif. 


Creed Humphrey (3), Oklahoma, 6-5, 315, So., Shawnee

Lucas Niang (2), TCU, 6-7, 328, Sr., New Canaan, Conn.

Zach Shackelford (2), Texas, 6-4, 305, Sr., Belton, Texas 

Jack Anderson (2), Texas Tech, 6-5, 320, Jr., Frisco, Texas 

Colton McKivitz (3), West Virginia, 6-7, 312, Sr., Jacobsburg, Ohio 


Cameron Dicker (2), Texas, 6-1, 201, So., Austin, Texas 


CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma, 6-2, 191, Jr., Richmond, Texas 




James Lynch (2), Baylor, 6-4, 290, Jr., Round Rock, Texas 

JaQuan Bailey (2), Iowa State, 6-2, 255, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla. 

Ray Lima (2), Iowa State, 6-3, 305, Sr., Los Angeles, Calif. 

Reggie Walker, K-State, 6-2, 250, Sr., Ponchatoula, La. 

Corey Bethley (3), TCU, 6-2, 290, Jr., Katy, Texas 


Clay Johnston (2), Baylor, 6-1, 232, Sr., Abilene, Texas 

Marcel Spears, Jr. (3), Iowa State, 6-1, 218, Sr., Olathe, Kan. 

Kenneth Murray (2), Oklahoma, 6-2, 243, Jr., Missouri City, Texas 


Greg Eisworth (1), Iowa State, 6-0, 205, Jr., Grand Prairie, Texas 

A.J. Green (2), Oklahoma State, 6-1, 190, Sr., DeSoto, Texas 

Jeff Gladney (2), TCU, 6-0, 183, Sr., New Boston, Texas 

Caden Sterns (1), Texas, 6-1, 205, So., Cibolo, Texas 

Adrian Frye (1), Texas Tech, 6-1, 190, So., Houston, Texas 


Kyle Thompson (2), Kansas, 6-4, 222, Jr., El Cajon, Calif.



1. 2018 first-team selection

2. 2018 second-team selection

3. 2018 honorable mention