Woodward and 3 bordering counties will have sheriff's races this fall, but on the whole there wasn't exactly a rush in the  area to file for public office in 2012.

In Woodward County, there are 2 races - 4 people filed for the county sheriff's position and 3 for an open seat on the county commission.

Current Woodward County Sheriff Gary Stanley, a Republican, will face former sheriff Les Morton in the primary. Running on the Democratic side are Joe Adams, who lost to Stanley 4 years ago, and Monty Martin.

In County Commission District 2, Republicans Randy Johnson and Tony Dale Taylor will meet in the primary with the winner facing Democrat William J. Phillips in the general election. Current commissioner Ted Craighead is retiring.

Current court clerk Charolett Waggoner, a Democrat, is unopposed for a full term. Waggoner was appointed last year to fill out the term left open by Ron Hohweiler's retirement.

Tammy Roberts, a Republican, is unopposed for court clerk. Current court clerk Jenny Hopkins is not running for another term.

The other sheriff's races are in Ellis County, Dewey County and Harper County.

In Ellis County, 5 people have filed for the position, including incumbent Duane Miller, a Republican. He will be joined in the primary by Johnny Chaffin, Wade Bruce and Casey L. Booth.

Jess Brewer, an Independent, awaits the winner in the general election.

In Dewey County current sheriff L. Clay Sander, a Republican, will be challenged by Democrat Tom J. Wilcox

In Harper County, sheriff Marty Drew will face Mark Twain Brinson in the primary. Both are Republicans and the winner will be sheriff since no Democrat filed.

Daughters of all ages enjoyed taking to the dance floor with their fathers during the "Dining and Dancing with Daddy" event held Friday evening at the Woodward Conference Center.  The event was a fundraiser for Northwest Domestic Crisis Services.  (Photo by Rowynn Ricks)

U. S. Rep. Frank Lucas, R, Cheyenne, will have a primary opponent and 2 more opponents in the general election,

William Craig Stump of Drumright filed to go against Lucas in the primary.

Also filing were Democrat Timothy Ray Murray of Moore and Independent William M. Sanders of Stillwater.

District 27 State Sen. Bryce Marlatt will have a general election opponent as Tommy W. Nicholson of Mooreland filed as an Independent.

In State House District 59, Incumbent Republican Mike Sanders has a primary opponent, Rodney Hiebert of Taloga.

District 61 Representative Gus Blackwell, a Republican, is unopposed for re-election as is District 58 Rep. Jeff Hickman, also a Republican. Blackwell is from Laverne and Hickman from Fairview.

Trending Video

Recommended for you