Woodward County officers are expecting around 150 officials from 19 counties in for the annual Northwest District County Officers meeting on Friday.

County Clerk Charolett Waggoner said this is Woodward's first time to host since 2002. The meetings are being held at the conference center.

Final preparations are underway for a reception on Thursday and the business meetings on Friday.

The Woodward County Courthouse will be closed on Friday for those meetings.

Activity starts on Thursday night with a reception from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Northwest Inn.

Then on Friday morning, registration at the conference center is from 8 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.

Group meetings are from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. at various meeting rooms.

Court Clerks, Assessors, Treasurers and County Clerks will meet to hear a Courthouse Security presentation by Woodward Courtroom Security Officer Clark Streubing and Oklahoma Highway Patrol Trooper Charity Robertson.

During the morning, county commissioners are scheduled to tour the Siemens Energy facility and buses will be provided for the tours.

County sheriff's will have an opportunity to tour the Woodward County Jail.

A luncheon at the conference center includes welcomes from Woodward Mayor Gary Goetzinger and Chamber President C. J. Montgomery as well as entertainment from Bobbi Castor.

A business session will follow lunch.

The Northwest District includes Alfalfa, Beaver, Blaine, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Kay, Kingfisher, Logan, Major, Noble, Roger Mills, Texas, Woods and Woodward counties.

District officers are President Teresa Morris from Roger Mills County, Vice President Penny Dowell from Grant County, Secretary Shelly Reed from Woods County and Waggoner is the treasurer.

The host officials from Woodward county are Assessor Mistie Dunn, Commissioners Tommy Roedell, Randy Johnson and Vernie Matt, Waggoner, Court Clerk Tammy Roberts, Sheriff Gary Stanley and Treasurer Sonya Coleman.


Commissioners handled mainly routine items their regular meeting Monday, approving reports and blanket purchase orders.

They also approved the maximum highway expenditures for October in the amount of $317,286.97, which is split between the three districts.

Also, commissioners approved the appointment of Dustin Kelso as a receiving officer for Highway District No. 3.

This was only the first meeting for commissioners this week.

The commission has set a special meeting for 2:30 p.m. Wednesday to receive and possibly take action on the Fiscal Year 2014-2015 county budget, which was prepared by Jerry Putnam of Putnam & Company, PLLC.

Trending Video

Recommended for you