The Woodward News

June 2, 2013

West wins Classic Bowl thriller

By Johnny McMahan
Woodward News

Woodward, Okla. — There was no shortage of excitement in Classic Bowl XXV.

In a game that went down to the final minute, the West squad edged the East 22-17 at Boomer Stadium.

The game wasn't decided until Ty Reasoner of Cashion came up a yard short of the goal line on a scramble after being forced out of the pocket. Bryson Beattie of Texhoma led the West defensive charge on the final play.

The West defense stepped up big in the fourth quarter, twice stopping the East inside the 10-yard line on downs. The East's final series of downs started at the West 4-yard-line.

Offensively, the West put together the only scoring drive of the second half early in the fourth quarter. Long passes from Dalton Lemieux (Forgan) to Dakota Duckett (Dodge City) and Gage Murphy (Laverne) got the East close. Trevin Weins (Meade, Kan.) then got the touchdown on a 3-yard run with 5:27 left in the game.

Beattie and Kalen Gabel (Beaver) were named the Players of the Game for the West. Cody Forrell (Alva) won the top honor for the East.

Beattie put the West on the board with a 66-yard touchdown run off a double reverse.

The East came back to take a 14-6 lead on touchdowns by Ky Merriman (Woodward) on a 1-yard run, and Grant Newton (Kingfisher) on a 3-yard run.

A safety pulled the West to within 6 points at 14-8, then the West went ahead on a 3-yard run by Chris Hardaway (Meade, Kan.) with 5 minutes left in the first half.

The East answered with a drive into scoring position and with 1:55 left in the half Moises Resendiz (Ringwood) kicked a 23-yard field goal for a 17-16 East halftime lead.


At halftime, all of the $1,000 scholarship winners were announced. The 5 winners were:

• Girls Basketball - Kenzi Taylor, Forgan

• Boys Basketball – Brandon Gosselin, Burlington

• Drew Williams Memorial Football - Grant Newton, Kingfisher

• Mary Bradley Memorial Band – Miku Stone, Chisholm

• Cheerleading - Stacy Bailey, Timberlake


Other football award winners announced during the athletic awards banquet included:

West Coach of the Year: Tim Allen, Laverne

East Coach of the Year: Lynn Shackleford, Cashion

West Defensive Player of the Year: Bryson Beattie, Texhoma

East Defensive Player of the Year; Jake Scott, Enid

West Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Hardaway, Meade, Kan.

East Offensive Player of the Year: Grant Nightengale, Fairview

Classic Award: Dalton Lemieux, Forgan

Founders Award: Gage Murphy, Laverne