The Woodward News

January 13, 2013

Mooreland, Forgan win Oil Center championships

Woodward News

Woodward, Okla. — Mooreland's girls won their second Oil Center Classic in the past 3 years while Forgan's boys earned their fourth in a row at Boomer Fieldhouse Saturday night.

The Lady Cats, 13-0 on the season, never trailed in beating Shattuck 44-31. while Forgan, ranked No. 1 in Class B, held off Mooreland 71-59.

Tourament MVP Kayla Wilson had 19 points and Jennifer Myers 11 for the Mooreland girls.

With the score tied 8-8 in the first quarter, the Lady Cats went on a 7-0 run capped by Wilson's steal and layup to make it 15-8.

It was still a 7-point lead at halftime, but Haley Steuart buried a pair of three-pointers to open the third quarter and the Lady Cats had a double-dight lead.

Mooreland was up by as many as 18 points before Shattuck made a late run to close the gap a bit.

Daniela Galindo led Shattuck with 19 points and Katelyn Cummings had 7, all in the fourth period.

Tournament MVP Jake Regier poured in 27 points and Chander Bryer had 25 as Forgan became the first team to win four consecutive championships in the Oil Center Classic.

It wasn't easy as the Bulldogs had to fight off a challenge from the young - 3 freshmen and 1 sophomore starter - Bearcats.

Forgan led 33-30 at halftime and 45-40 after three periods. The Bulldogs were able to open the gap up down the stretch.

Freshman Blake Murray led Mooreland with 20 points, including 15 in the first half, and Landon Peach scored 12.

In the third place boys game, Beaver defeated Shattuck 43-36 with 19 points from sophomore Garrett Weber. Beau Srader and Wyatt Castor had 13 each for Shattuck.

Forgan won third place on the girls side, beating Beaver 49-47 in overtime.

Kenzie Taylor had 24 points and Niki Taylor 19. Shelby Brown scored 19 and Jacinda Balderrama 12 for Beaver.

Sharon-Mutual's girls beat Canton 57-20 for fifth place behind 17 points from Megan Phillips and Turpin's boys edged Sharon-Mutual 42-32 in the fifth place boys game.

In the Fargo tournament on Saturday, the host Bearcats, ranked in the top 5 in Class B, routed previously unbeaten Tyrone 57-31 for the championship.

Tyler Foale and Derek Harrington had 15 points each to lead the Bearcats and Sam Baker scored 11.

Foale was named the tournament MVP.

Payton Slater had 15 points for Tyrone.

Balko won the girls side, betting Fargo 61-25.

Jaylee Mays was selected tournament MVP.

Laverne's boys and Leedey's girls won championships in the Ward Classic at Seiling.