The Woodward News


November 30, 2012

It's championship weekend in Oklahoma


Woodward, Okla. — Class B

Laverne has been knocking on the door in Class B the last 5 years and the Tigers appear ready to march through this time.

In front of them, however, is a dangerous Pond Creek-Hunter team that arguably has the best win of the two clubs with its 41-40 overtime victory at Wetumka.

Laverne is trying to beat the Panthers for the second time this season - never an easy task.

The Tigers, though, have a lot of weapons. Trevor Harris is a touchdown waiting to happen. Tucker Rolf throws well and has good receivers and the Tigers have several big, strong linemen.

Laverne was last in the finals in 2008, losing a 30-26 thriller to Garber.

Pond Creek-Hunter features a 2,000-yard rusher in Brady Krittenbrink.

The Panthers do have a little history on their side. They are 3-0 in state championship games.

Class C

Let's see. Both teams can score. Both teams can stop people. Neither team has lost.

This one is going to be fun.

Josh Torres leads a fast Tipton squad noted as much for just giving up 28 points all season as anything else. The Tigers thrive off turnovers, getting 5 in a tight 28-20 semifinal win over Sharon-Mutual last week.

Forgan features run-pass threat Dalton Lemieux who has thrown for 27 touchdowns (just one interception) and rushed for 23 more. Trevin Lopez gives the Bulldogs a second 1,000-yard rusher.

Forgan is trying to win its first state championship since 1974. The Bulldogs were last in the finals in 2002 when they lost to Pond Creek-Hunter. Tipton won a state title in 1997,

Johnny McMahan is managing editor of the Woodward News.


Class 6A


Friday, 7:30 p.m. at OSU

Norman North (12-1) vs. Jenks (11-2)

Class 5A


Saturday, 7:30 p.m. at OSU

Carl Albert (8-5) vs. East Central (9-4)

Class 4A


12:30 p.m. Saturday at OSU

Anadarko (13-0) vs. Clinton (11-2)

Text Only
  • Travelers knocked out of Connie Mack Tournament

    ENID – Texas Stix scored three runs in the top of the sixth inning and defeated the Traveler Majors 4-3 Friday in the Connie Mack Regional.

    July 26, 2014

  • Travelers drop 6-1 decision

    ENID - DBat Gallegos out of the Dallas area dropped the Traveler Majors into the elimination bracket of the South Plains Connie Mack Regional with a 6-1 decision Thursday at David Allen Memorial Ballpark.

    July 26, 2014

  • Majors move into regional semifinals

    ENID – A second straight dynamite pitching effort and timely offense have the Traveler Majors in the championship semifinals of the Connie Mack South Plains Regional.

    July 24, 2014

  • Traveler Majors take regional opener

    ALVA - The Traveler Majors continued their strong Connie Mack playoff showing at Northwestern Oklahoma State University Tuesday.

    July 22, 2014

  • web1.jpg Travelers win Connie Mack state championship

    Down 2-0 and down to their final three outs, the Traveler Majors delivered a championship rally in the seventh inning Sunday.

    July 20, 2014 9 Photos

  • Traveler Majors in Connie Mack Finals

    ENID - The Traveler Majors are one win away from their second Connie Mack State Tournament championship in three years.

    July 20, 2014

  • Majors win Connie Mack Opener

    ENID – Brett Lorah allowed two hits over 6.1 innings and Jesus Gamez shut down a threat in the seventh as the Travelers beat Southmoore 3-0 in the Connie Mack State Tournament on Wednesday.

    July 18, 2014

  • State tourney field set

    Fuller Park will be the host site for the OK Kids Minors (15-under) State Baseball Tournament Tuesday through Saturday.

    July 15, 2014

  • Majors finish second in festival

    After a second place finish in the Woodward Festival on Sunday, the Traveler Majors will go to Enid this week for the Connie Mack State Tournament.

    July 15, 2014

  • Traveler Festival continues

    The Traveler Minors finished the preliminary rounds of the Woodward Festival with a 2-2 record after dropping a 10-1 decision to the Oklahoma Tribe at Fuller Park Saturday morning.

    July 15, 2014