The Woodward News

January 25, 2014

Woodward to host Class B Area

Woodward News

Woodward, Okla. — As expected, Woodward will once again host the Class B Area 1 basketball championship.

Tournament dates are Feb. 27, 28 and March 1.

In addition, Woodward will host one day of the Class B regional on Feb. 20 before the teams move on to Leedey for the regional finals.

The assignments were announced Thursday by the Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association.

With only one day of the regional in Woodward, it leaves open the possibility of the Boomers hosting their district tournament in Class 4A, which will be either Feb. 21 or 22.

In the Class A assignments, there was one major change with Area 1 going to Southwestern’s Pioneer Center. For the last several years, Enid has hosted the Class A tournament.

Class B

Area 1 at Woodward

District 1 at Keyes - Keyes, Felt, Goodwell

District 2 at Fort Supply - Fort Supply, Freedom, Leedey

District 3 at Okeene - Okeene, Sharon-Mutual, Aline-Cleo

District 4 at Lomega - Lomega, Covington-Douglas, Dover

Regional Main Site: Leedey. Subsite: Woodward

District 5 at Forgan - Forgan, Tyrone, Yarbrough

District 6 at Balko - Balko, Buffalo, Hardesty

District 7 at Burlington - Burlington, Medford, DCLA

District 8 at Shattuck - Shattuck, Waynoka

Regional Main Site: Shattuck;. Subsite: Buffalo

Note: Arnett will be in Area 3, hosting a district with Sweetwater and Granite. Regional is at Hammon and Area at Elk City

Class A

Area 1 at Southwestern

District 1 at Texhoma - Texhoma, Beaver, Boise City

District 2 at Seiling - Seiling, Arapaho-Butler, Ringwood

District 3 at Mooreland - Mooreland, Fargo-Gage, Cherokee

District 4 at Laverne - Laverne, Turpin, Vici

Regional Main Site: Seiling. Subsite: Laverne

District 5 at Hydro Eakly - Hydro-Eakly, Geary, Union City

District 6 at Cheyenne - Cheyenne, Canute, Sentinel

District 7 at Cimarron - Cimarron, Canton, Oklahoma Christian Academy

District 8 at Fort Cobb-Broxton - Fort Cobb-Broxton, Carnegie, Binger-Oney

Regional Main Site: Clinton. Subsite: Fort Cobb-Broxton