The Woodward News

Local News

March 9, 2013

School board meeting Monday

Woodward, Okla. — Woodward's Board of Education members will discuss reemployment of the school district's certified administrators, directors and coordinators during their regular meeting Monday.

The board meets at 6 p.m. in the board room of the school administration building, 1023 10th St.

An executive session is on the agenda to discuss the administrators, along with the hiring of a bus driver, central cafeteria worker and Boomer Kids Club worker.

Votes are scheduled in open session.

Administrators, directors and coordinators up for reemployment are Tom Fisher, assistant superintendent; Kirk Warnick, high school principal; Frank Harrington, middle school principal; Bana Bogdahn, Angela Rhoades, Debbie Harrington and Debbie Jones, elementary principals; Sandy Johnson, district curriculum director and Susan Viles, district testing coordinator.

The boards other action topics include the contract renewal with Chas. W. Carroll, P.A. fore the school audit, notification of bargaining and proposal for procedural agreement with the Woodward Education Association and consideration of payment of teacher retirement offset from previous fiscal years as presented.

Among the items in the consent docket are field trip and fundraiser requests, and the approval of use of Woodward High School facilities for Classic Bowl XXV.

Chelsea Roberts, Woodward's Teacher of the Year, will be recognized during the meeting and the board will also hear reports and updates.


The High Plains Technology Center Board will actually have 2 meetings on Monday.

The first is a special meeting at 5:15 p.m. for presentation of the Fiscal Year 2012 Audit by Chas. W. Carroll Auditing Firm.

After that, the board will adjourn, then reconvene for its regular meeting at 5:30 p.m.

Among the agenda items is an executive session discuss the evaluation and reemployment the school's instructors and coordinators, and to discuss hiring part-time instructors and substitutes to add to the roster.

Votes are scheduled in open session.

Instructors and coordinators up for reemployment include: Tracy Borden, KJ Bowers, Pake Carlson, Polly Cottom, Jack Day, Jennifer Dew-Cockreham, Bronson Ellis, Susan Griffin, Penny Guthrie, Gary Jacobs, Delores Jones, Michelle Ketcherside, Aaron Marlatt, Evelynn Morris, Micky Pingry, Pat Pyle, Forrest Rogers, Karen Rogers, David Stone, Vic Terbush and Mitch Zimmerman.

Board members will also review and vote on the declaration of some equipment as surplus and approving the contract for next audit, among other action items.

Text Only
Local News
  • House sends income tax cut to governor

    OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Legislation that would trim Oklahoma's personal income tax rate when state revenue improves was approved by the House on Wednesday in spite of objections that it's irresponsible in the face of critical education, health care and transportation needs.

    April 24, 2014

  • FOP to host debate for candidates

    Woodward's Fraternal Order of Police chapter is sponsoring a debate on May 20 between the two candidates hoping to become the next District 26 District Attorney.

    April 24, 2014

  • Movie premiere Thursday

    A film company interested in continuing a trend of production in the area will screen their latest full length film "Wichita" Thursday (April 24) at the Woodward Arts Theatre at 7 p.m.

    April 24, 2014

  • Personal security focus of weekend class for women

    Self-defense and personal security does not always include a physical altercation.
    The mind can often help you prevail in a potentially dangerous situation.

    April 23, 2014

  • Testing woes frustrating for students

    On Monday, Woodward 7th grader Taylor Harrison sat straight and tense in front of the computer, but she felt prepared.

    April 23, 2014

  • DSC_5249.JPG Fire units on scene of tank battery fire

    A tank battery fire that started at an oilfield disposal site northwest of Woodward early Wednesday morning continues to burn.

    April 23, 2014 3 Photos

  • City, county commissions meet

    Roundup of Monday's Woodward city and county commission meetings.

    April 22, 2014

  • Boomers win 2 in Alva festival

    The Boomer baseball team had its most successful day of the season  since March with a pair of wins in the Alva Festival on Saturday.

    April 22, 2014

  • Glitches prompt suspension of testing

    OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Oklahoma's public schools superintendent suspended online testing across the state on Monday after middle and high school students systemwide experienced disruptions during high-stakes standardized tests for the second consecutive year.

    April 22, 2014

  • Mooreland Art Show Saturday

    MOORELAND--There will be a lot of talent on display at the 28th annual Mooreland Spring Arts and Crafts Show.

    April 22, 2014

Business Marquee
AP Video

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.