The Woodward News

November 14, 2013

Woodward Teacher of the Year finalists named

Rachael Van Horn
Woodward News

Woodward, Okla. — Four Teacher of the Year hopefuls have been nominated by Woodward schools this week, according to Woodward District Curriculum Director, Sandy Johnson.

"We have chosen four teachers," Johnson said. "What we have done this year is each group selected one from their sites. The elementary schools joined together and picked one."

Chosen this year are; Monica Hodgden-Pre-K teacher at ECC; Mona Schmitz-3rd grade teacher at Highland Park; Abbie Wasson-8th grade math teacher and Chanda Peters-high school chemistry teacher.

The four will write an essay on an educational topic and vie for the coveted "Woodward Teacher of the Year", Johnson said.

Last year, 8th grade American history teacher, Chelsea Roberts won both the Woodward Teacher of the Year and was a finalist for Oklahoma Teacher of the Year competition.

The judging panel in Woodward is comprised of a group of former educators and some community members, Johnson said. The announcement and celebration for the Woodward Teacher of the Year will take place in February.